Showing Collections: 1 - 3 of 3
Bucktrout-Smith Papers
Collection
Identifier: MS 00142
Scope and Contents
Papers of Richard M. Bucktrout, merchant and mortician in Williamsburg, Virginia. Includes correspondence, receipts, financial papers, records of soldiers killed at the Battle of Williamsburg and legal papers, dated 1855 to 1869. List of deaths at the Seminary Hospital from July to November 1861 in Williamsburg, Virginia and coffins made for soldiers dying in Williamsburg in July-August 1861.The business papers of Sydney Smith, dated 1874 to 1929.Lists names of people...
Dates:
1855-1929
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Joseph Keith Newell Diary
Collection
Identifier: SC 00652
Scope and Contents
Diary, 19 March 1862 to 24 August 1862, of Joseph Keith Newell, a captain of the 10th Massachusetts Infantry during the Civil War. Diary runs from March to August of 1862, and describes the life of a Union soldier during the Peninsula Campaign. Describes his trip down the Potomac River from Washington, D.C., to Hampton, Virginia. Also includes a description of the Battle of Williamsburg, 5 May 1862, as well as his observations of the College of William & Mary. Newell also describes his...
Dates:
1862
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Virginia Cities Collection
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.4 V82ci
Scope and Contents
Artificial collection of papers relating to various cities in the Commonwealth of Virginia.
Dates:
1663-1980
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center